Guide · Flashlights & Pocket Lights
Olight Warrior Ultra Review: Is the 2,500-Lumen Tactical Light Worth It for EDC?
The Olight Warrior Ultra pairs 2,500 lumens and 26,000 candela with a two-stage tail switch and a side switch for daily levels, per its Amazon listing and Olight's user manual. Here is what both sources state, where the manual adds detail, and whether it suits everyday carry.
Marcus ValeLead Gear Analyst
Published Oct 19, 2026 · 10 min read
Is the Olight Warrior Ultra Tactical Flashlight Worth It for Everyday Carry?
For everyday carry, the Olight Warrior Ultra is worth it if you want the tactical layout — a tail switch for momentary and instant Turbo, a side switch for the daily levels — and can carry the size that comes with 2,500 lumens: Olight's user manual lists it at 140 mm long, 29 mm across and 178 g with its 5,000 mAh battery, and its box list includes a holster. The headline figures match across both sources: per the Amazon listing, 2,500 lumens and 26,000 candela on Turbo for a beam of up to 320 meters, and the manual's specification table shows the same three numbers alongside IPX8 and a 2 m drop rating. The trade-offs are charging through a magnetic cable (neither source mentions a port on the light itself), a Turbo that holds full output for 2.5 minutes, and a proximity sensor to understand before you use the light in a confined space.
Updated October 2026.
We did not test this product ourselves; this review is built from the manufacturer's published specifications and Amazon's product listing.
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
Output, beam and runtimes
Per the listing, "With a powerful 2,500-lumen output and 26,000 candelas on Turbo mode, the high lumen flashlight illuminates distances of up to 320 meters." Olight's manual gives the same ceiling — 26,000 cd and 320 m — and fills in what the listing does not: the full set of levels and how long each holds.
Per the manual's Table 1, the light source is a Luminus SFT-70X7W LED rated at 26W, in cool white at 6500K with a CRI of 70. The levels run:
- Turbo: 2,500 lumens — 100% for 2.5 minutes, then 32% for 162 minutes, then 10% for 39 minutes.
- High: 800 lumens — 100% for 168 minutes, then 31% for 39 minutes.
- Medium: 200 lumens for 13 hours.
- Low: 15 lumens for 130 hours.
- Moonlight: 1 lumen for 55 days.
The manual's footnote says the data follow the ANSI/NEMA FL 1-2019 standard and come from Olight's own labs, for reference.
Two things in those numbers matter for daily carry. First, Turbo is a 2.5-minute mode: after that the manual shows it dropping to 32%, so the 2,500-lumen figure describes a burst, not a level you walk around in. Second, the manual's English text gives two statements about High that it does not reconcile: Table 1 shows High at 100% for 168 minutes, while a parenthetical in the English note on memorized levels says "High mode will automatically switch to Medium mode after 1 minute of use." For what 26,000 candela and 320 meters mean on a dark street, our lumens, candela and CRI explainer is the place to start.
Two switches, two jobs
Per the listing, "A side switch is present to select 5 different modes for daily use and tail switch is present for tactical use," and the tail switch is "textured with raised dots" for grip. The manual spells out what each does.
The side switch, per the manual: press to turn the light on or off at the memorized level; press and hold for over 1 second from off for Moonlight; double-press for Turbo; press three times or more for Strobe; and, with the light on, press and hold to cycle Low, Medium and High, releasing at the level you want. Moonlight, Low, Medium and High are memorized when the light is turned off; Turbo and Strobe are not. Lockout is a hold of about 2 seconds from off, until Moonlight blinks; a hold of at least 1 second unlocks into Moonlight. The listing says the side switch selects "5 different modes"; the manual lists five brightness levels — Moonlight, Low, Medium, High and Turbo — plus Strobe.
The tail switch, per the manual, has two configurations, and switching between them means pressing firmly and holding the tail switch while pressing the side switch. In Configuration 1, the factory default, a light tap gives Medium, a tap-and-hold gives momentary Medium, a firm press gives Turbo, and a firm press-and-hold gives momentary Turbo; from Medium, one firm press jumps to Turbo. In Configuration 2, tap-and-hold is momentary Turbo and a firm press-and-hold is Strobe. That two-stage switch — light press versus firm press — is how the manual describes the tail switch, which the listing says is "present for tactical use."
The manual also shows brightness and battery indicators around the side switch, with the lowest battery indicator glowing red below 10%.
The proximity sensor
Per the listing, the sensor "Automatically reduces brightness when near objects, preventing potential damage to both the LED flashlight and surrounding surfaces." The manual is more specific, and the specifics are what an everyday carrier needs: "In High, Turbo, or Strobe modes (when 3 or more indicators are on), if an obstruction is detected near the lens, the brightness will automatically decrease to prevent overheating and protect the objects and the lens. The brightness will return to the previous level when the obstruction is removed. The light will automatically turn off if the obstruction persists for over 1 minute."
Put plainly, on High or Turbo an obstruction near the lens dims the light, and one that persists for over a minute switches it off. The manual's workaround: on High, double-press or triple-press the side switch within 5 seconds of the sensor activating, which "will bring the flashlight's brightness back to High from Medium"; the sensor re-enables when the light is turned off. Neither source states the detection distance.
Battery, charging and build
Per the listing, the light "is equipped with the customized rechargeable battery, which is easy to charge with the MCC3 magnetic charging cable." The manual lists the cell as a rechargeable lithium-ion battery of 18 Wh (5,000 mAh, 3.6 V), and its Table 2 describes the charging cable, which it labels "MCC": 0.5 m long, USB type A input at DC 5V 2A, and "About 5.5 hours" to a full charge. The manual's first instruction is to remove the insulating film before first use.
Neither source mentions a charging port on the light itself; both describe the magnetic cable. If you would rather carry one USB-C lead for everything, our USB-C rechargeable flashlight roundup covers lights built that way. The listing calls the battery "customized," so plan on Olight's cell and Olight's cable.
On build, the listing says the body is "Crafted from O-aluminum," which it describes as "exceptionally durable, resisting wear," and the title calls it "OAL Material." The manual's text does not describe the alloy; what it does state is IPX8, a 2 m drop rating, a working temperature of 0-40°C, and the size: (L)140 x (D)29 mm, or 5.51 x 1.14 in, at 178 g / 6.28 oz including the battery. The manual's "In the box" shows the Warrior Ultra, a holster and the USB magnetic charging cable; its illustrations show a pocket clip fitted to the body, though neither source describes the clip in words.
Warranty
The listing states no warranty term. The manual does: "We are proud to offer a lifetime warranty in Australia, China, France, Germany, and the USA," with "a 2 or 5-year warranty" in other countries, covering "defects in material and workmanship under normal use, excluding loss, theft, deliberate damage, or cosmetic damage," with full terms at Olight's site.
Key specs
| Spec | Amazon listing | Olight's user manual |
|---|---|---|
| Max output | 2,500 lumens | Turbo 2,500 lumens: 100% 2.5 min, 32% 162 min, 10% 39 min |
| Other levels | "5 different modes" via the side switch | High 800 lm (168 min, then 31% 39 min); Medium 200 lm (13 h); Low 15 lm (130 h); Moonlight 1 lm (55 days); Strobe |
| Intensity | 26,000 candela on Turbo | 26,000 cd |
| Beam distance | Up to 320 meters | 320 m |
| LED | Not stated | Luminus SFT-70X7W, 26W; cool white 6500K, CRI 70 |
| Battery | "customized rechargeable battery" | Rechargeable lithium-ion, 18 Wh (5,000 mAh, 3.6 V) |
| Charging | MCC3 magnetic charging cable | "MCC" magnetic cable, 0.5 m, USB type A, DC 5V 2A in; about 5.5 hours |
| Body material | O-aluminum, "OAL Material" in the title | Not described in the text |
| Water resistance | Not stated | IPX8 |
| Drop rating | Not stated | 2 m |
| Size | "Compact" | 140 x 29 mm (5.51 x 1.14 in) |
| Weight | Not stated | 178 g / 6.28 oz including battery |
| Side switch | 5 modes for daily use | On/off, Moonlight, Turbo, Strobe, level cycling, lockout |
| Tail switch | Tactical use; textured with raised dots | Two-stage; Configuration 1 (Medium/Turbo) or Configuration 2 (Turbo/Strobe) |
| Proximity sensor | Reduces brightness near objects | Dims on High/Turbo/Strobe; off after 1 minute of obstruction; can be bypassed on High |
| In the box | Not itemised | Warrior Ultra, holster, USB magnetic charging cable |
| Color | Navy Blue | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated | Lifetime in Australia, China, France, Germany and the USA; 2 or 5 years elsewhere |
What stands out
- 2,500 lumens, 26,000 candela and 320 meters, stated the same way on the listing and in the manual.
- A two-stage tail switch with two selectable configurations, per the manual.
- Side-switch lockout and a Moonlight shortcut, per the manual.
- IPX8 and a 2 m drop rating, per the manual.
- A lifetime warranty in the USA, per the manual.
Where it might not fit
- 140 mm long and 178 g with its battery, per the manual.
- Turbo holds full output for 2.5 minutes, per the manual, before stepping down.
- Magnetic-cable charging; neither source mentions a port on the light.
- The proximity sensor dims the light near surfaces and turns it off after a minute of obstruction, per the manual.
- Two unreconciled statements about High mode in the manual's English text: 168 minutes at 100% versus a switch to Medium after 1 minute.
Verdict
Worth it for everyday carry if 140 mm and 178 g suit how you carry, and if the tail switch is the control you want under your thumb. The output and beam numbers agree across both sources, the manual adds a drop rating, IPX8, a lockout, a Moonlight mode and a lifetime warranty in the USA, and the two-stage tail switch is the reason to choose a tactical format at all. To compare other EDC flashlights first, our EDC flashlight roundup covers them. Otherwise, check the current price of the Olight Warrior Ultra on Amazon, and re-read the proximity-sensor section before your first close-range job.
Where to buy: Check the current price on Amazon.
Sources
- Olight — "Warrior Ultra User Manual," version C dated March 18, 2025 (document 3.4000.1150): Table 1 specifications, Table 2 MCC, the English operating instructions and the warranty statement.
- Amazon product listing for the OLIGHT Warrior Ultra Rechargeable Tactical Flashlight Navy Blue (title, brand and feature bullets).
From the shop
Browse the shop →Original designs from this site, made to order.
Where to buy
- $97.99Check price on Amazon
OLIGHT Warrior Ultra Rechargeable Tactical Flashlight Navy Blue
Straight disclosure —some links on this page are affiliate links. If you buy through them we may earn a commission from the retailer or network (such as CJ, Awin, Impact, or eBay Partner Network), at no extra cost to you. It never changes the price you pay, and it never changes a verdict.
Article FAQ
Is the Olight Warrior Ultra tactical flashlight worth it for everyday carry?
Yes, if you want a two-stage tail switch and the manual's size and weight suit how you carry. Per the Amazon listing and Olight's manual it puts out 2,500 lumens and 26,000 candela on Turbo for a 320-meter beam, and the manual adds IPX8, a 2 m drop rating, a 140 mm length and 178 g with battery.
How bright is the Olight Warrior Ultra and how far does it throw?
2,500 lumens and 26,000 candela on Turbo, for up to 320 meters, per both sources. Per the manual, Turbo holds 100% for 2.5 minutes before stepping down, and the lower levels are 800, 200, 15 and 1 lumens.
How does the Warrior Ultra's proximity sensor work?
Per the manual, in High, Turbo or Strobe an obstruction near the lens makes the brightness decrease automatically, it returns when the obstruction is removed, and the light turns off if the obstruction persists for over 1 minute. On High, a double- or triple-press of the side switch within 5 seconds brings the output back to High.
How is the Warrior Ultra charged?
With a magnetic charging cable: the listing names it the MCC3, and the manual's Table 2 lists a 0.5 m cable with a USB type A plug, DC 5V 2A input and about 5.5 hours to a full charge. The battery is an 18 Wh, 5,000 mAh, 3.6 V rechargeable lithium-ion cell, per the manual.
What is the Olight Warrior Ultra's warranty?
Per the manual, a lifetime warranty in Australia, China, France, Germany and the USA, and a 2 or 5-year warranty in other countries, covering defects in material and workmanship under normal use. The Amazon listing states no warranty term.





